USK Allocated Up To 30% Quota for New Students Through the Independent Route

17.05.2021 Humas

The registration for the Independent Route Admission for the State Universities in the Western part of Indonesia (SMM PTN-Barat) 2021 had just started from Monday, 17 May 2021 to 21 June 2021. Universitas Syiah Kuala allocated a 30% quota for this year’s independent admission. (Banda Aceh, 17 May 2021).

Rector of USK, Prof. ir. Samsul Rizal, M.Eng as the Head of SMM PTN-Barat mentioned that in total, there would be 7.601 quota for new students in science with 338 study programs from the universities included in this selection. Meanwhile, the quota for social science programs is about 6.889. Students may enrol and choose from the 237 available social sciences study programs.

“According to the data, USK allocated a quota of 30% or about 2300 slots for those who want to study at USK through the independent route. This 30% quota is then allocated to all study programs in the university.”

The SMM PTN-Barat is an independent admission route for the participating universities which is held simultaneously. 

The selection method for this year’s SMM PTN would adopt the model of UTBK-SBMPTN using Computer Assisted Test (CAT). This model is fairly new considering last year’s selection through paper-based tests. 

“This way, the students would not need to register or take the test by going to their preferred universities. Students from Aceh can also choose universities outside Aceh.”, the Rector said. 

This time, there are 17 universities in the western part of Indonesia participating in the SMM PTN. These universities are a part of the Western Universities Cooperation Agency (BKS PTN Barat) including Universitas Syiah Kuala (USK), Universitas Sultan Ageng Tirtayasa (Untirta), Universitas Bengkulu (Unib), Universitas Jambi (UNJA), Universitas Lampung (Unila), and Institut Seni Indonesi (ISI) Padangpanjang. 

In addition, there are also Lalu Universitas Palangkaraya (UPR), Universitas Malikussaleh (Unimal), Universitas Maritim Raja Ali Haji (UMRAH), Universitas Bangka Belitung (UBB), Universitas Teuku Umar (UTU), Institut Teknologi Sumatera Utara (ITERA), Universitas Seni dan Budaya Indonesia (ISBI) Aceh, Universitas Samudra (Unsam), Universitas Riau (UNRI), Universitas Siliwangi (Unsil), dan Universitas Islam Negeri Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta (UIN Jakarta).

The UTBK test for this SMM PTN-Barat would be held on 28 June - 7 July 2021. The results would be announced on 14v July at 16.00 WIB. The Rector really hopes that future students would take this opportunity to come and study at university through this route. 

More information about the admission process is available on the official website of SMM PTN Barat 2021. Should there be any problems in the registration process, contact Humas USK at 08116752000.